Autonomous Colleges

The University Grants Commission and the University of Madras on Wednesday granted autonomous status to seven arts and science colleges in the city. The colleges are: 1. Lady Willingdon Institute of Advanced Study in Education, Triplicane, 2. Justice Basheer Ahmed Sayeed College for Women, Teynampet, 3. The Madras School of Social Work, Egmore, 4. S.D.N.Bhatt Vaishnav College, Chrompet, 5. Meston College of Education, Royapettah, 5. D.B. Jain College, Thorapakkam and 6. New College, Royapettah. The Ambedkar Law College, Vyasarpadi, will soon join this list.These colleges can conduct their own exams and would have autonomy in finance and admissions.
Btw, the first of the colleges given autonomy were the Loyala and MCC back in the sixties.

Comments are closed.

Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2009 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.