Ezhumbur or do we know it as Egmore?

All of us know Egmore. It is where the Railway Station is. It is where the Museum is. It is where the Commissioner of Police office is. It is where a lot of other good things are too. I am sure people are forgetting the original name, which is Ezhumbur. Which in Tamil means, seven villages. There were initially six villages viz. Chintadripet, Komaleeswaranpet, Narayan-gaud Paracheri, Sani Reddi Paracheri, Sitapet and Surammalpet. The seventh village was Ezhumbur and these were the seven villages that made the Egmore we know of today. It is another matter that some villages exist on their own too. I believe the whole city of Madras / Chennai would have been a cluster of a several hundred villages. In fact the village of Triplicane was acquired by the British to expand the city from Fort St. George.

350 years of Madras,1990.

1 Comment so far

  1. Veera (unregistered) on August 15th, 2006 @ 3:46 am

    Why all of a sudden histroy tip? are you showing off??

Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2009 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.