Constituency watch – Mylapore

Its election time, and this time around the contest for Mylapore constituency promises to be interesting. The constituency consists of Mylapore, Raja Annamalai Puram, Santhome, Abirampuram, parts of Adyar and Besant Nagar. The famous Kapali temple, Luz and Santhome Church apart from Vivekananda and Sanskrit College are a part of this constituency. This area is amongst the prime middle class areas in the city with a highly educated electorate. Both alliances have a well entrenched following here with the small percentage of swing voters making the difference. Both the big alliances have decided to capitalize the on the enamor that cinema has on the electorate, by fielding film stars, ADMK had decided to field S Ve Shekar, veteran theatre and film personality, who is a resident of the area since 1958 and has a following amongst the educated voters, while the DMK has decided to field Napoleon, another veteran film actor, who took the plunge into politics once his film career started to falter, and has might have some mass appeal, but entirely is dependent on the DMK’s strong base in the area.

Last time BJP’s Lakshmanan defeated ADMK’s Maitreyan (who has since progressed to the Rajya Sabha) by a margin of 5%. DMK and its alliance partners have won the seat in 2001, 1996, 1989 and in 1977, while lost it in 1991, 1984 and 1980, the DMK managed to retain the seat last time even when there was an incumbency wave sweeping the state. Whoever wins this seat, the area is well developed, by Indian standards. The DMK built two flyovers between 1996 and 2001, which made no difference to the traffic situation and the roads were still congested. The sitting MLA has taken care of the constituency well, meeting all its needs. This time around it’s a closely fought contest and the winner isn’t clear, largely due to the lack of an anti incumbency wave against ADMK.

The educated electorate of this area hasn’t come out in large numbers to vote, with the turnout in 2001 being just 41%, which is well below the state average which usually hovers between 55 and 60%. This might indicate that the educated haven’t really exercised their franchise, but indulge in a lot of ‘arm chair politics’.

ADMK: Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazgham
DMK: Dravida Munetra Kazghan
BJP: Bharatiya Janata Party
Entire List of areas under Mylapore, and the electoral rolls (in tamil)

5 Comments so far

  1. prabukarthik (unregistered) on April 7th, 2006 @ 8:57 am

    i would back S Ve Sheker to win here.

  2. Stalin John Manuel Billigraham (unregistered) on April 7th, 2006 @ 12:33 pm

    Mahaveer Napolean will win. He is not a kind of person who arresting a good character like Sankaracharya. He will do good to all kind of people. So Napolean, again elected for MLA in Mylapore in 2006.

  3. Ganesh (unregistered) on April 11th, 2006 @ 8:46 pm

    vats whats point of armchair politics when you dont even exercise your basic civic duty of being a citizen of a democratic country.

  4. rajmohan (unregistered) on April 23rd, 2006 @ 11:22 pm

    When guys like Santhana Gopalan are coming into the game, I don’t see any scope for the others. I just don’t think there is any competetion for him in this zone.

  5. Malathi (unregistered) on April 25th, 2006 @ 2:27 am

    I wish and pray that Lokparitran wins. Good luck guys.

Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2009 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.